Why a Fast NO is better than a Maybe

28 Jun

In the business world, we have to sell product.  It doesn’t matter what the product is.  If you’re not selling it, you’re not making money.  When a potential client says “I want to hear more about it” after the initial product pitch, I have to keep myself from cringing.  I didn’t get an immediate sell; so now I am looking for a “Fast No.”  The “Maybe” answer just keeps me from moving on to the next potential “yes” client.  What I need is the “Fast No.”

At this point, I follow these 3 steps:

  1.  I ask the potential client, “What is your biggest concern about the product?”
  2. If the client responds with a direct concern, I answer it and ask for the sale again.
  3. If the client beats around the bush, I immediately let them off the hook with an “I understand the timing isn’t right for you.  How about I call you in a few weeks?”

By following these steps, I have a sale or I have a “Fast No.”  Either way I move on to the next potential client.  Since I let them off the hook, they are more at ease and will take my call when I DO call back in a few weeks.  This process keeps me from squandering time waiting for a sale that might not happen.

Some salespeople will recoil in utter disbelief that I let a potential client off the hook.  I know it is just a smart business move for the following reasons:

  1. Most of us hate high pressure sales tactics.  This is definitely low pressure.
  2. It keeps the business relationship friendly.
  3. The potential client will more likely refer you others because you weren’t high pressure.
  4. Most importantly, I can move on.  The more people who hear my pitch—the more sales I get.

That is why a “Fast No” is better than a “Maybe.”

 

Please feel free comments and questions.  Please, check out my website at fields685.com.

Leave a Reply

